Never miss breakfast again!

I’ve actually found a breakfast that beats my smoothie in preparation quickness and ability to satiate my morning hunger. There are a myriad of recipes out there for overnight oats, so no shortage on ideas for additives!  Another Root got me started, so I recommend this blog for more details. I tend to keep it basic when I’m busy or when I’m needing to be extra frugal. I love making my own almond butter and strawberry jam, but that’s just not always realistic.  I say it’s better for your body (and your bank account) to eat a breakfast you prepared yourself, than something from the drive-through or vending machine…or nothing at all!

The easiest breakfast on the go!

The easiest breakfast on the go!

Here’s the basics:

1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats (as opposed to quick oats)

1/2 cup liquid (I use non-dairy milk such as almond or coconut)

1 tablespoon nut butter or chopped nuts (I use almond butter)

1 tablespoon jam or berries or other mash-able fruit (a jar of jam lasts in the fridge and a bag of berries in the freezer!)

Other recipes suggest adding mashed banana and maple syrup, but I’ve found it’s not necessary.  Although it adds a delicious sweetness, so add ’em if you’ve got ’em!  Adding some chopped nuts or shredded coconut the morning of for some texture is nice, too.  Again, I’m keeping it as simple as I can lately.  I’ve been too busy for bananas!

Here’s my prep:  

On Sunday, I label 5 containers for Monday through Friday.  I add my oats, milk, nut butter and jam or fruit to each jar, and I put the jars in the fridge.  Breakfast is done, dude!  I usually grab a jar and spoon to mash it all together as I walk out of the house.

I do get tired of the same thing every morning, so I make two different kinds for the week.  In the photo, I have nut butter and jam for Monday-Wednesday.  Thursday and Friday have a small container of nuts and coconut to add those mornings (otherwise they’d get soggy).  I replaced the nut butter with chopped nuts and replaced the fruit with 1/2 teaspoon coco powder (or chocolate chips) and 1/2 tsp maple syrup.

Leave a comment